2013 Faculty Award Nomination Information

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Nominations are being accepted January 2 - February 4, 2013 for the CPH Excellence in Research, Teaching, and Services Awards.   Please click on the links below to nominate a faculty member for these awards.  Email your nomination forms to aprilk04@uga.edu

*All full-time faculty members who have been at the CPH for at least one year are eligible for the award.  Previous award winners must wait a minimum of 5 years before being considered again.*

Excellence in Research

The CPH Awards Committee will select recipients based on the following criteria:

  • Research performed by the nominee, with an emphasis on research performed while at the University of Georgia
  • Impact of the research on the discipline
  • Creativity in research, rather than basing the award solely on quantities of publications or amounts funded.

Past Recipients:
2009:  Steve Rathbun, Epidemiology and Biostatistics
2011:  Chris Whalen, Epidemiology and Biostatistics
2012:  Jia-Sheng Wang, Environmental Health Science

2013 Research Award Nomination form

Excellence in Teaching

The CPH Awards Committee will select recipients based on the following criteria:

  • Classroom teaching competence is clearly outstanding
  • Well-defined teaching philosophy and approach to education
  • Superior teaching evaluations from students, peers or alumni
  • Evidence of a positive impact on students

Past Recipients:|
2006:  David Hayes, Health Promotion and Behavior
2007:  Luke Naeher, Environmental Health Science
2008:  Phaedra Corso, Health Policy and Management
2009:  Jessica Muilenburg, Health Promotion and Behavior
2011:  Monica Gaughan, Health Policy and Management
2012:  Mark Ebell, Epidemiology

2013 Teaching Award Nomination form

Excellence in Service

The CPH Award Committee will select recipients based on any combination of the following criteria:

  • Community service, including impact on expanding the learning experience of students, establishing community/practice partnerships, and generating activity that will improve the health status of a specific community or target population.
  • Professional service, including recognized leadership in appropriate organizations.
  • Exceptional service within the university, whether at the department, college or university level.

Past Recipients:
2009:  Cham Dallas, Health Policy and Management
2011:  Marsha Davis, Health Promotion & Behavior
2012:  John Vena, Epidemiology

2013 Service Award Nomination Form